What I Learned About Life by Contouring My Face

Mystic Life + Style

Before this year, I never bothered to learn how to contour my face. It didn’t make a whole lot of sense to me and seemed like an unnecessary step in the whole makeup process. But, before this year, I also didn’t do a lot of posing in front of a digital camera or planning to DIY a wedding, including makeup. Since I’ve started doing both of those things, I’ve been watching a lot of online tutorials about facial contouring – the why’s, what’s and how’s about giving my face depth and definition. (I LOVE Jordan Liberty. He’s brilliant. Check out his YouTube channel here).

As I practiced, I couldn’t help but draw some parallels between contouring – which is really the art of adding shadow to your face – and real life. So humor me while I draw out those parallels for you.

Shadows are darkness. The concept, when applied…

View original post 969 more words

Leave a Reply

